verbal croquis


when you wish upon a star

Posted in events,the day job by verbalcroquis on July 12, 2006

What a day.  It whizzed by as I half-heartedly attempted to pry the idiot grin off my face.

I don’t like complaining incessantly and thus creating a blog full of negativity. Nonetheless, I’d be lying to you if I said all was smooth sailing at work.  The last six months have been insane, the last two revving up to fever pitch.  I’ve been driving myself crazy with the workload, the attitude problems, my lackluster tech, the stress of my first collection, alladatandthensome.  Poor sleep snuck into my schedule and my body got slammed hard this past weekend with the worst bout of stomach flu I’ve ever experienced.  (And trust me, usually, my stomach is like a steel tank.) Ah, this industry.  Gotta love it.

And then today.  Because apparently, I must have done something right in a past life or something, I got a pat on the back.

1.  I got a raise.

2.  My lackluster tech gave her two week notice.

3.  I’m getting an assistant instead of a new tech.  Yes, as they said before, they can’t afford to hire someone else, but now there’s a slot available, they’re pretty much going to allow me to restructure that role and the new person will answer to me.  So I’ll have more time to focus on design, merchandising, and product development, and leave behind my production duties, as well as some stuff I don’t love doing like measuring stuff. So while my workload will be similar to what I have going on now, my brain will not be split in so many ways, and a lot of paperwork will be shifted off my plate, and I am so freaking grateful for that.

I’m grateful for the production experience, and the knowledge that I’ve culled will definitely help me to be better at design and business.  Learning and really grasping different aspects of the business gives you such an advantage, I can’t even begin to explain.  One of my goals regarding my day job have always been to move forward into a position where my opinions on design and business will be heard and my experience in production has really given me an extra edge in my conversations with my boss and the new VP.

And, in combination of my Perrier check and my new raise, I am projecting to be done paying off my student loans by the end of this year!  No more debt!  Woohoo!

2 Responses to 'when you wish upon a star'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'when you wish upon a star'.

  1. Elke said,

    yeah!!! congrats girl! way to go!


  2. and leave behind my production duties, as well as some stuff I don’t love doing like measuring stuff. So while my workload will be similar to what I have going on now, my brain will not be split in so many ways, and a lot of paperwork will be shifted off my plate,

    wow, just that alone would rank as a great move forward. What a deal! I really wish more newbies knew just how hard being a designer really is. So much of it is so not fun and so not glamorous.

    congrats Zoe! I look forward to saying I knew you way back when…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

