verbal croquis


proud to be a fashionista

Posted in opinions,rants by verbalcroquis on December 7, 2005

The title is a bit tongue in cheek, of course, but I want to address something that’s been on my mind for a while. Almost Girl wrote a post defending her reasons for going into the fashion industry, questioning mainly the self-indulgence factor in our line of work. She wrote that fashion has major societal impact and importance. While I agree with many of the points she addressed, I had to stop and pull away from the discussion with a mild distaste in my mouth.

Why defend yourself at all? Why do people in the fashion industry have to constantly explain to others that they’re not shallow divas who fell into this because they lacked the brainpower to tackle more academic pursuits, or too self-centered to offer something more noble to the world?

There are only two reasons why anybody holds a job: they need/want the money, or they enjoy what they do. Even the cancer research scientists do what they do because of one of those reasons. It’s for the greater good of mankind? I don’t think so. If they weren’t getting paid or enjoyed what they were doing, they wouldn’t do it. There is no selflessness in enjoying what you’re doing. An example of true selflessness would be the doctor who performs pro bono surgeries to ailing orphans while hating every minute of it.

It’s interesting to me why everyone in the fashion industry has this distinct reputation of being self-indulgent. Even people in other design disciplines don’t have the necessity to prove their worth to society like those in the fashion industry.

That said, just enjoy what you do. Bottom line, there is no point in giving excuses, intelligent and valid as they may be, because your friends will love you regardless and your enemies won’t believe you either way. People who put judgments on you based solely on your line of work are not worth knowing anyway.

7 Responses to 'proud to be a fashionista'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'proud to be a fashionista'.

  1. Almost Girl said,

    Thank you dear! I do enjoy what I do I just feel like helping others get beyond their own stereotypes might be useful. Apparently it didn’t work so well!


  2. […] Please read: Proud to be a Fashionista by Pez: There are only two reasons why anybody holds a job: they need/want the money, or they enjoy what they do. Even the cancer research scientists do what they do because of one of those reasons. It’s for the greater good of mankind? I don’t think so. If they weren’t getting paid or enjoyed what they were doing, they wouldn’t do it. There is no selflessness in enjoying what you’re doing. An example of true selflessness would be the doctor who performs pro bono surgeries to ailing orphans while hating every minute of it. […]

  3. assaf said,

    Take pride in what you do, or just don’t do it. Which is not an excuse to be a slacker!

    And remember that the people who want to belittle you, will do that anyway. You can logically wiggle out of one point, they’ll just find another.


  4. Julie, I hope you didn’t read my post as an attack on you or your post. It’s just that I’ve been there, defending what I do, trying very hard not to believe people when they would say I’m “wasting my brains” and the such.

    I almost think I wrote that post to convince myself, too. 🙂

  5. G said,

    I think you’re fortunate to pursue a line of work you’re so passionate about, especially if you’ve been dreaming about it since you were a kid. Its rare to have that sort of passion for anything. If you can make a great living out of it, so much the better.

  6. G said,

    Hey cuz,

    Happy 26th! Give me a ring ’cause I don’t have your new digits.


  7. Thanks, G!


Leave a Reply

