verbal croquis


fashion forecasting

Posted in fashion shows,my work by verbalcroquis on December 29, 2005

Here’s the follow up to the Balenciaga post I had promised. For the purposes of this format, I am keeping things as short and simple as possible.

Five years ago, I had the opportunity to go to London and take some summer courses at Central Saint Martins, one of the best fashion colleges in the world, where I had the privilege of taking a design course with the amazing Jessica Ogden, among other courses. I took a fashion forecasting class and the big project was to compile a lookbook of your own fashion forecast for what was to happen five years in the future.

jessica ogden (Jessica Ogden Spring 06)
The project was called “It’s a disease, baby”; I was calling for sexiness without it being in your face. Basically, I was forecasting that five years from the date of the project, fashion was going to move in a direction that was less sexually explicit. Obviousness would be out, simmering under the surface would be in. Color would be less important, form and lines would be the focus. A more masculine approach, if you will. (Historically, in art, form and line were considered more masculine traits, while focus on color was more feminine.)

In the pitch I presented back then, clothes had menswear elements, tailoring. Neutrals won, allowing only controlled splashes of color. Prints were not as important as tonal design details, brocades, lace. Clothes were more covered up. Looks hearkened back to more conservative eras–the forties, the turn of the 20th century Victorian and Edwardian, or they went in the direction of eras where the looks were more stark–the sixties, the age of neoclassicism.

kenzo gucci

anna sui miu miu

Sound familiar? You know it’s a major shift when a house like Versace presents a spring collection that is more covered up, less colorful, and less skin-tight than it has been in ages, and the edges of Chloe dip in the masculine.

versace chloe

So what does any of this have to do with Balenciaga?

I’ve been a fan of Nicolas Ghesquire for a few seasons. I won’t lie and say I’ve been a fan since he started at Balenciaga–it took some convincing for me. The current spring 2006 collection of his, however, just blew my mind and cinched the deal. It wasn’t until I saw this collection that I remembered that old project of mine again.

balenciaga balenciaga3.jpg

balenciaga balenciaga

balenciaga balenciaga

His collection was the embodiment of all the ideas I had tossed into that little book of images. I’m not saying I designed that collection five years ago; I’m not saying I even have the potential to design such a beautiful collection ever, I’m saying my forecast was correct, nothing more, nothing less. People need signs that the work they’re doing is good, that it’s on the right path, and this season’s developments (along with some prior forecasting projects) has shown me that I have potential. It’s an interesting thing, to be proven right. I won’t lie: it feels damn good. Not necessarily in the smug “I’m right, you’re wrong” sort of way, but in the “whoa, I wasn’t as clueless as I thought I was after all” sense. I just hope that I can keep this up.

3 Responses to 'fashion forecasting'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'fashion forecasting'.

  1. mynx said,

    so glad you finally posted this!

    even happier that i was able to see the forecasting book in person!

  2. Tandi said,

    Any advice on how to find an entry-level job in trend forecasting?

  3. KANNY said,

    i would be thankful if u kindly give me the summary of fashion forecastimg and its factors.ur designs are mindblowing.


Leave a Reply

