verbal croquis


what language should i learn next?

Posted in personal by verbalcroquis on January 17, 2006

I think I’ve basically narrowed it down to French or Cantonese. French for the fashion industry, Cantonese for the garment industry. Both useful, interesting, widely spoken in this weird little fabric-fabricated world of ours. I already know some Russian. Do you suppose Russian will become important enough in the next ten years for me to work on it?  I already know the alphabet and numbers, basic verb conjugation and syntax.

Or, I could just stop thinking about my career for just two seconds and do something personal, like advance my Korean (I basically write, read, and speak at a junior high level a.k.a. Not Good Enough.  One of my goals for this year is to get in touch with my mother’s side of the family again and I need to improve my Korean. My mother passed away when I was 13 and I haven’t kept in touch with her side of the family. Enough is enough.)

Of course, if I were to take up something extracurricular that doesn’t have anything to do with my career, I’d probably start taking cello lessons. But it’s not very productive, this cello-playing thing.  I used to play violin and piano for a few years back in my former life of symphony auditions and rehearsals. The reason I didn’t pick up cello back then was because my mother didn’t think it ladylike to spread your legs in public like that.

Someone help me make up my mind? I swear I’m not a Libra.

No, seriously, industry peeps, offer me some pearls of wisdom?

2 Responses to 'what language should i learn next?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'what language should i learn next?'.

  1. urbanara said,

    hello. nice to meet you.
    french will be a lot easier for you than cantonese because english and french share many common words. you should make up big mind if you wanted to learn cantonese.
    i speak korean as my mother tognue and lived in france for two years. i’ll be gladly your help.

    cheers


  2. thanks for your advice and offer!


Leave a Reply

