verbal croquis


guess who’s coming to dinner?

Posted in events by verbalcroquis on March 2, 2006

I’m frickin’ exhausted, but I promised you a dinner post so I’m writing y’all a dinner post.  Hope you’re happy.

1.  Cristobal Balenciaga.  Cuz he was a freakin’ genius.  And it’s believed that he wanted his house shut down after he died.  Well, obviously it didn’t happen.  And that’s why I would also invite 2. Nicolas Ghesquire. Is that how you spell his name?  I’m too lazy to go check right now.  Y’all know who I mean.  The conversation between the two masterminds would be fascinating, as I sat hovering, hoping to become a brilliant fashion designer through osmosis.

To add to the mixture, I’d invite 3.  Charles Frederick Worth, the “father” of haute couture.  I’d love to hear his life story, and also his views on the state of haute couture now.  And I’d also love for him to teach me some of the really old school techniques.  Hey, I learn pretty fast!  I figure if I serve enough courses, I can get a couple of good lessons under my belt.

I’d also invite 4.  Madeleine Vionnet, because she lives under the shadow of other women of the time like Gres, the Schiap, and Chanel, but deserves so much more pomp.  The woman was a brilliant draper.  Her understanding of construction and fabric was unparalleled.  I hope she brings that mini-mannequin that looks like an Oompa-Loompa version of her.  That’d be cool in a kinda creepy way. I’d only invite Chanel if she was strapped to a lie-detector test the whole time, as she was a notorious fibber, uh, *exaggerator*.

TO round out the list, I’d like to invite 5. Travis Banton, Hollywood costume designer extraordinaire.  I’d love to ask him how Edith Head really got her job, if that Claudette Colbert is really true, what it was like to work with Dietrich.  I’d also love to hear a debate between the king of costume design and the couturiers, about how the film affected fashion, vice versa, and hear their theories on who was more influential.  My personal theory is that they were each more influential in different periods of time, but that’s just my humble opinion and I’d love to hear them hash it out.  Y’all already know I’m a big fashion geek, but I guess you didn’t know I’m a big Hollywood costume geek too.

Ah, to be a fly on the wall.  Naw, I like talking too much.  But I guess you figured that out already.  Okay, I gotta shut up now cuz I’m about to pass out.  I’m sure I’ll think of a better dinner party tomorrow, but oh well.  Oooh, I could have done a whole dinner with ……….zzzzzzzzzzzz………..

2 Responses to 'guess who’s coming to dinner?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'guess who’s coming to dinner?'.

  1. henri-v said,

    Squeal! I almost invited Edith Head! And Isabella Blow, because I always seem to lump those two together for strange reasons … Head would know all the gossip on the old-school stars with cellulite and funny proportions. Nedd to look into Banton now.

  2. henri-v said,

    that was “Need to look into …”


Leave a Reply

