verbal croquis


this is my life

Posted in home life,people i know by verbalcroquis on March 16, 2006

Today, I’m not supposed to do any work. The boyfriend and my girl M forbade it. Today is my break day. Some of us (me, henri-v and lol b) were talking about boyfriends and their opinions on fashion over at the Tribunal, and I remembered reading this particular blog post a while ago. Never have I nodded so much in my life. So I would tell you about my life (or the nonfashion parts, anyway), but this woman named Emily does it better. (Assaf is not an apple developer, but he does code for a living.)

Some gems:

What about the poor innocent souls who think they are getting a normal guy and then come to find out he has been sucked into the chaotic world of development? What about the little girls who dream of Prince Charming and end up with Steve Ballmer? What about the girls who never even dreamed they would know who Steve Ballmer is? I think someone needs to offer them a little advice. Seeing that I am a seasoned professional who has been dating a developer since I was 15, I think there is no one better than me to show them the way.

I started pondering this while I was doing the laundry because I noticed that 9 out of the 10 t-shirts I was folding were development or Mac related. Just to give you a general idea of what I’m talking about (and the embarrassment I have to deal with when we go out in public) let me describe a few of them. First, I ran across one that read “Steve Jobs is my homeboy.? Then there was the one that said “I am blogging this.? Next was a WWDC 2004 polo and an Apple Developer Connection shirt. And my personal favorite was the one that said “Code Different.? I couldn’t make this up if I tried.

I still don’t know who Steve Ballmer is (and no, babe, this is not an invitation for you to tell me), but Assaf does have a t-shirt that says “Built to Flip”. And a bumper sticker that says “I am the media”. And henri-v asked me if he has some secret fashion sense. *snort* Check out the rest of it here.

*edit*

Okay, so I’m being a bit harsh.  He’s actually way too hip to be called a true geek–that’s why I call him geekerati.  But I still don’t think he’s allowed to give me design criticism. heh.

6 Responses to 'this is my life'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'this is my life'.

  1. henri-v said,

    Heeeee! I had to forward this to my little sister and her man. She is an Apple geek and he is an opensource developer/entrepreneur. O’Reilly books and UNIX how-to books at Christmas!

  2. Danielle said,

    I can’t believe I missed the boyfriends opinions on fashion conversation! darn!


  3. “She is an Apple geek and he is an opensource developer/entrepreneur. ”

    omg. why am i suddenly seeing an apple version of the doublemint gum commercial?

  4. Lol B said,

    Thanks for this ! Great post, really had me laughing. I just had to send it to my own geek who is presently in New Zealand for 4 days presenting and speaking at a blogging and technology conference!

    He’s billed at this conference as ” urbane, social architect James F ..”, what’s with the urbane , and what’s a social architect??


  5. hahahahaha!
    my boyfriend’s business card says he’s the “chief architect” of something. architect? i thought he wrote code? i guess “architect” is the new Web 2.0 catch-all title…heh…

  6. Almost GIrl said,

    Wow, I can totally relate but on a different note. Coming from an entreprenuer family and a tech family since the dark ages (1983) all of the tee-shits and tote bags that populated my life were things like Agenda 95 or Demo 98. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

