verbal croquis


sparkle part quatre

Posted in events,my work,side projects by verbalcroquis on April 2, 2006

Cost sheet time! Ugh. Can I go pick the lint out of my belly button instead? Actually, I don't mind doing these–it appeals to the math geek part of me–but these in particular were a pain. I couldn't really figure out what to charge for the fabric treatments like the chain print done in rhinestones on tweed. I decided to add on top of the base fabric price, as if I would have a dude develop this fabric for me instead of making it part of the labor charge–which would be astronomical as a per item fee.

These would be my wholesale prices (which include my markup):

  • The deconstructed cinderella: $925
  • The tank $175
  • The trousers: $375
  • The suspenders: $125
  • The bell dress: $625
  • The trompe l'oeil blouse: $150
  • The cargo skirt: $425
  • The dissolving bows dress: $1750

Some things to consider when looking at these prices:

    • They're overseas production prices that include the cheaper labor and the expensive freight costs.
    • The special fabrics cost a lot per yard on top of the fact that the base was a very expensive lux material.
    • If I were to actually produce this line, I'd be talking to guys who could recreate my fabrics and therefore have a better idea on what the actual fabric costs would be. I'd tweak my numbers.

      Don't rule out looking at your line and doing a "perceived value analysis". Would buyers really get the fact that a silk blouse costs as much as a cotton rib tank? Or would buyers get the fact that something that obviously requires so much more labor (the tank) would only be a little more than something that doesn't (the blouse)? And would suspenders, no matter how "special" they were, sell for a 3-digit price? All questions I would seriously have to ask myself if I were to produce this line.

      4 Responses to 'sparkle part quatre'

      Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'sparkle part quatre'.


      1. Yikes. So much for the the dissolving bows dress…at the rate the wedding expenses are going – looks like all I will be able to afford now is a burlap sack. Sigh.


      2. Oh, honey, like I’d try to make a profit from your wedding dress! We can make something work–at a friendlier price for you. Consider it a wedding gift and we’ll work something out. Call me.

      3. henri-v said,

        Hey VC – By about what factor would your wholesale prices increase if you had the collection produced in the States? .75? .1.25?

        My guesstimates for the price points were pretty close!


      4. I don’t think there’s an exact percentage or formula that I could put on it–there are too many factors involved.


      Leave a Reply

