verbal croquis


update

Posted in general by verbalcroquis on June 2, 2006

The good:

After several weeks of excruciating meetings, butting heads, and unfocused meanderings, this week, the team at work has finally managed to get our collective butts in gear. Spring 07 is starting to look good, folks, if I do say so myself.

This is an important collection for me, since it is my first full collection for the house label since my promotion to head designer, and I'm at a serious disadvantage considering we've yet to find a replacement for my old job so I'm still doing double duty, and it's a spring collection, which is not our season. We're leather, and people aren't as leather-friendly when it's hot out. Nonetheless, your intrepid VC trudges along, and I am almost certain we'll sell better than Spring 06. And as you know, my goal at work is to always sell better than the previous year.

Another fun thing has been happening. As a result of the Gen Art/Perrier competition, I've been receiving requests for interviews! I'm so flattered and I do the little-girl-bounce everytime. (I'm such a dork. Heh.)

Oh, and Henri-V and I had a "small world" moment yesterday, in the most amusing way. We were chatting on the phone and it turns out that the guy she's subletting from (here in SF) is an acquaintance of mine and the boy's. (Oh, how the mighty grammar guru has fallen.*) Actually, the guy's girlfriend is a good friend of the boy's. And we're also chummy with one of her roommates. (Btw, we've only spoken on the phone thus far, but from what I can tell, she's lovely. Can't wait to meet her in person next week! She's going to be my fit model for the GA dress!)

The bad:

I've been a bad blogger and I have half a dozen posts that are less than half written.

Also, I'm going to L.A. this weekend to go buy my materials for the Gen Art dress. I don't really enjoy visiting L.A. anymore. And I'll be missing Elke by a day! (She's currently shooting in New York. She's one of those glamorous bi-coastal peeps.) Crap. And L.A. in June. It's going to be hot and sticky-icky-icky, especially driving through central Cali.

But, my dear friend M will be accompanying me, and we will be crashing with the esteemed S**, in her adorable Long Beach apartment, and I've given myself permission to take some of my Perrier winnings and buy myself some cute things, so the whole trip shouldn't be too bad. Hopefully M's and my friend J will get his butt in gear and come up from San Diego to see us.

My big fear is that the materials I sourced will not be available anymore at the retail fabric stores. I don't have time for them to reorder. (Yes, I have access to plenty of silk wholesalers, but it is a big industry no-no to use wholesalers for your personal goods. They will find out. They will not be happy when they do. And it's also a matter of professional ethics.) I've almost convinced myself that fretting over it will send out subconscious airwaves that will gravitate other shoppers away from my fabrics.

The ugly:

My muslins for the GA dress. Let me tell you, this is not simply a matter of self-deprecation. This is some serious mess we have on our hands here. I mean, it's basically a long dirndl dress with an underskirt. But to have the low-scooping back not gape to reveal the wearer's "goods", while still draping gracefully vertically is proving to be beyond my skills. The rub-offs are looking weird. Kathleen! Help me! The boy thinks I'm just tired. Maybe.

dissolvingflat.jpg

I think that if I make the gathers a 1.5:1 ratio instead of 2:1, it will look cleaner with less center back gaping. I'd like to really create that sexy low scoop back, but I may have to raise it up a little more so the dress sits on the skin as opposed to flapping in the wind.

Monday, I will return to attacking the mannequin. Maybe she's rebelling because I haven't named her yet. (I like naming things. My car's name is Shirley.)

This has been your VC update for the week. Stay tuned for more adventures in apparel and fantasies in fashion. Same VC time, same VC channel.

* I was a private English tutor for 11 years and headed up the peer-tutoring department for the Liberal Studies department at my alma mater for 3 years. I've even proofread some of my professor's books for publication. I was brutal. I've made grown men cry, by scratching up their senior theses. The problem students were brought to me. Now, I read some of my blog posts and I can see my own red marks all over them. Especially that sentence. Oy.

**S is a fashion designer in L.A. She and I met in fashion school and she is, by far, the designer I respect the most out of the all the ones I know in real life.

10 Responses to 'update'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'update'.

  1. Rebecca said,

    Feel free to correct my grammar. I need all the help I can get!

    Have a great weekend — can’t wait to see what you buy!


  2. […] Stay tuned for more adventures in apparel and fantasies in fashion. … **S is a fashion designer in LA She and I met in fashion school and she is, by far, the designer I respect the most out of the all the ones I know in real life.update […]

  3. Danielle said,

    Have fun shopping in LA – treat yourself a little, you deserve it! I’m sure you’ll find the fabrics that work… some smart person once said that good design is all about overcoming adverse circumstances.

    Perhaps it’s not a dirndl, but actually a flared a-line tent with a gathered waist? You could always reduce the gape by easing a bias strip along the sides and back…

    Let’s see pictures!


  4. Hm. Perhaps this dress form is not speaking to you appropriately. i name things too, and the dress form i made (saran wrap and packing tape, y’all) went nameless, which concerned me. however, my mother bought me an adjustable one, and i had named it Matilda before it even arrived. Something about it, i guess… who knows. we had a connection, matilda and i…

  5. Tammy said,

    hey vc,

    been a while since i’ve commented, but i really like the stuff u wrote up on fashion-incubator, very helpful, because i myself am not a fashion design baffer. and i think all those interview requests sound really exciting, do u think they are legit? or are they at least companies you’ve heard of?


  6. Joi–hahahahahaha~ That’s exactly how I feel! My car Shirley, she loves me and I can just tell. She’s never failed me. My first car Lucy, she was dependable for a while, but like many too-beautiful things, she lived a short life, filled with amazing memories. There was a car in between Lucy and Shirley and I never named it cuz I hated it on sight. (Long story.) And it broke down all the time, and on the freeway too.

    Tammy–the interviews are not for jobs, but for press. I’ve had a couple of job interests, but I’m staying where I’m at for the day job. I’m always open to freelance, though.

    Danielle–I’m going to post pictures of the whole process, as much as I can. We have 4 cameras in the house! (Don’t get me started as to why. While I was gone over the weekend, the boy got himself a new girlfriend–a Mac G4 12-inch platinum baby. And he bought his Sony Vaio only a few months ago! He tells me he needed to have a Mac experience. I can’t leave that boy alone for 2 days…)

    Rebecca–I bought two new pairs of really cute jeans. The construction is interesting, so I’m going to write a post with pictures later this week. And if you really do have something that needs to be looked over, feel free to pop me an email.

  7. assaf said,

    It’s for … research purposes. Yep. Research. And you can never have too many computers, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

  8. Tammy said,

    oh i didn’t realise. but press interview requests are exciting, i think even more exciting then job ones. i actually need to figure out how to get more press for my clothing brand, but i’m way too busy freelancig as well, in addition to a full-time job. i have a feeling your dress will be amazing, and i really can’t wait to see it. best of luck šŸ™‚


  9. heya Zoe
    about this:
    (Yes, I have access to plenty of silk wholesalers, but it is a big industry no-no to use wholesalers for your personal goods. They will find out. They will not be happy when they do. And it’s also a matter of professional ethics.) I’ve almost convinced myself that fretting over it will send out subconscious airwaves that will gravitate other shoppers away from my fabrics.

    You know, I’ve found -surprisingly enough, don’t tell anybody else :)- that if you’re honest and say it’s for a personal project, they’ll often come through for you anyway! Really! I mean, that’s been my experience a couple of times. Still, I don’t think it’d hurt to tell them you’ll mention your source for the goods and what it’s for. It could be good promotion for them.

    Did you really need some help? Or was that a gratuitous link (not complaining in the slightest)? What do you need?


  10. Kathleen!
    My muslin isn’t coming out right. I have a couple more tricks up my sleeve on how to fix the problem, but if that doesn’t work, I may be pinging you. I’m also still working on that post we talked about for my next FI piece.


Leave a Reply

