verbal croquis


ups and downs

Posted in general by verbalcroquis on June 15, 2006

The past week has been a bit of a ride.  (My professional life only–my personal life is pretty steady and overall really good.)

First of all, my boss decided not to send me to New York for the tradeshow after all.  She said she couldn't justify expensing for that many people to go for a season we don't sell a lot.  (We do the bulk of our business in the fall.)  Which means I got the cut.  From a business standpoint, I understand, but I can't help but feel the sting and hiss of disappointment, after she had hyped me up with all the reasons why she wanted to send me in the first place.  (Mainly because she liked a lot of my ideas for how to design and work the booth.) 

I was really looking forward to meeting the buyers, pitch the new direction we were going in, to excite them with a fall teaser pitch, show off the new catalog we just produced…And she already did this to me once before (I was supposed to go to Boston with her earlier this year).  Oh well. 

So, this means I have to contact the Gen Art people about rearranging my ticket.  I hate to do this because I hate bothering people. 

On the plus side, which is what I always like to focus on, this means I get an extra week to complete the dress the way I like it (finetuned within an 1/8th of an inch of its life).  And I get to stay in a quiet(er) office where I can focus on the next big project for our Most Important Private Label Client.  I've already pitched the idea to my boss and she likes it.  Oh, and less time away from the boy.  Heh. 

On another positive note, Sparkle Construction is well under way.  I'll be cutting a fresh muslin tomorrow, and I think that'll do it.  If the stars are smiling, I'll be able to make this dress appear to have no seams. My patterns look really funky, in a good way.  You can't really tell what the hell they are, quite frankly.  I'll post pictures later.

Coming up, I'll be taking up Miss Super-Flats II on her request? challenge? on an assessment on San Francisco fashion and join Grand Master Squirrel Action J on her posts for fur fashion week.  (For the newbies, I work for a leather house, and we also do a tiny bit of fur. And Julie's nickname is a total compliment.)

Hmm…actually, it's only 10:30pm…I think I'll go ahead and cut the new muslin right now… 

3 Responses to 'ups and downs'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'ups and downs'.

  1. Smoooochie said,

    Oh, too bad about New York. Even so it sounds like you’ve got a lot of other great stuff to fill that time. I’m really looking forward to seeing more of the dress and it’s process.

  2. Rebecca said,

    Disappointing, true. But I love how you look on the bright side. I’m habitually that way too, and I also HATE bothering people. But you really can’t help it. *A whole bunch of creative punctuation has been removed here. Not wanting to cause you any pain and discomfort.*

    I’m really looking forward to your fur post. And everything else. 🙂


  3. Thanks, ladies.

    Personally, I’ve spent too much of my youth being bitter to still do it now. Like the great Edna Mode says, “I never look back, dahling!”


Leave a Reply

