verbal croquis


i hate waking before the sun does

Posted in general by verbalcroquis on August 28, 2006

I have a 7:30am flight to Vegas tomorrow morning and I haven’t packed yet.  I’ve been spending the last few days mulling over the questions you readers have had, regarding the role salesmen play, the industry in San Francisco, and creativity.  These are harder questions to answer than what lies on the surface, and my opinions may be a touch controversial.* 

Gotta go pack.  Gotta get some sleep.  What with airport security being what it is lately, I’ll have to be up at 4am.  I’ll be in Vegas by 9am.  Check in at the hotel, check in with our company booth, meet up with my VP, walk Project Show and Magic**, meet up with some friends from L.A. doing the same, go to sleep, wake up, lather, rinse, repeat, catch the 7:30pm flight back to SF.  Go to office and work Wednesday through Friday, catch a flight to San Diego with my friend M for a mini vaca to see our friend J and come back on Monday and hopefully not set foot on an airplane for the rest of the freakin’ year.  I’m already slated to go to Vegas on business again in early January.  Oy.  I’ve had a great year so far, with some amazing experiences, but I am not a fan of flying.

 

*While I have no problems opining the unpopular stance, I’ve been trying to word things in such a way that people don’t start semantics debates on my blog.  While I love a good argument, I despise semantics debates.  Nitpickers bug the hell out of me. 

**I’m not working the show.  I’m going to see if we need to move to another tradeshow and where within a different show we need to be placed.

One Response to 'i hate waking before the sun does'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'i hate waking before the sun does'.

  1. Simon said,

    I hope you have a successful trip to Vegas. I hear you on the semantics thing. I would not worry too much about what some tend to interpret from your explanations. You have your opinions, feel free to give your viewpoints the way you see them.

    I assume you are going to the MAGIC Show. I would love to hear your take on it as it relates to your brand and whether you will continue to exhibit there. One common misconception that many designers believe is that you must have a presence at these shows or you really aren’t a “somebody”. The show management (Advanstar) are adept at marketing a philosophy that participation is mandatory if you wish to make a decent living. I think tradeshows in the apparel industry are way overblown and that in many cases, their insistence on your participation is to further line their very deep pockets.

    I think you could greatly assist your readers if you were to give an accurate assessment of this show by candidly “polling” some of the exhibitors . I honestly think you will hear a “damned if you do , damned if you don’t ” theme, especially within the Pool and Projects sections, as I think this segment represents a good portion of emerging non mainstream (as of yet ) designers.
    We are counting on you.


Leave a Reply

