verbal croquis


looking for a new job

Posted in personal,the day job by verbalcroquis on November 13, 2006

Dear readers, yes, I am looking for a new job. Any help you can offer is much appreciated. I’m still working where I am, but I am planning my exit, the sooner the better. Irreconcilable differences. Let’s just leave it at that. And no, I’m not going to reveal who I worked for and start talking smack once I leave. Not my style.

I started putting out my feelers on Thursday. One fish may have bitten, but I’ll know more next week. We shall see. Everything is up in the air. It’s 11pm, Sunday night here in SF, and the rain is falling gently on the roof. Maybe that means I’ll get my fresh start soon. *crosses fingers*

9 Responses to 'looking for a new job'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'looking for a new job'.

  1. Rebecca said,

    Invariably job changes end up being big improvements, at least I hope that’s the case for you. You should be VERY marketable. I bet you end up with a big raise. 🙂

  2. Wendy said,

    Good luck with it Zoe — I’m sure it will be a very short job search!

  3. Leslie said,

    I was once told that the only way to get a significant raise in job responsibility and salary was to change jobs. Here’s hoping that your next move yields both. Good luck! =)


  4. Thanks so much for the encouraging words, ladies! I’m in between a rock and a hard place right now and I really needed them. 🙂

  5. Simon said,

    Activity begets activity. It is real hard to job seek while not wanting to alert the present employer in any way. On the other hand, it may be to your advantage to leave their employ and no prospective companies will feel as if they are tampering.
    Any other way is gonna be difficult.You can only have so many “dental appointments” and I think employers know when something is up. Everyone’s chemistry changes. People smell change in the air.

    The Bay area still boasts a vibrant design community, although the production portion is long gone. You know the import routine so you should be alright. I still think of your Gen Art winner and wondered how long you could last doing what you were doing. This may be a very good thing. Keep us posted.

  6. Simon said,

    Activity begets activity. It is real hard to job seek while not wanting to alert the present employer in any way. On the other hand, it may be to your advantage to leave their employ and no prospective companies will feel as if they are tampering.
    Any other way is gonna be difficult.You can only have so many “dental appointments” and I think employers know when something is up. Everyone’s chemistry changes. People smell change in the air.

    The Bay area still boasts a vibrant design community, although the production portion is long gone. You know the import routine so you should be alright. I still think of your Gen Art winner and wondered how long you could last doing what you were doing. This may be a very good thing. Keep us posted.

  7. Danielle said,

    so hard to have it all in the air – everything will land into place for you, in time.

  8. katie said,

    hi zoe,

    fellow otis alum here. are you interested in coming back to LA for work?

  9. Karen C. said,

    I hope you don’t have to leave the Bay Area. If you want some inspiration to get you positive, watch Larry King on 11/16/06 on CNN. Some great speakers on getting what you really want in life.

    And remember, dear, you’re the friggin’ winner of GenArt. Not just another wannabe designer. You have “mad” skills.


Leave a Reply

