verbal croquis


officially unemployed

Posted in personal,the day job by verbalcroquis on November 17, 2006

You know what I say to anyone who asks me about my blog? Every single one of these conversations I insert, “I have the best readers. No trolls, only great people who support me, cheer me on when I’m down, ask intelligent, interesting questions, and know how to be respectful when disagreeing with me or another reader.”

It’s all true and I have never found it more true than the last few days. The wonderful comments and emails I have received from you readers have helped my mental and emotional well-being tremendously and I can’t thank you enough.

Long story short, I gave 2 week notice on Wednesday, and later that day I was told that my “resignation is accepted, effective immediately”. What’s done is done, but I sure wish I had those 2 weeks to prep my team for my departure. I told my assistant to buzz me if there was something she really needed from me. That’s the best I could do, under the circumstances. I think my team was more shocked about it all than I was.

I won’t lie; this sucks. I was editing my resume today, and just reading through my job history, it suddenly dawned on me why I got hit so hard. I’ve never really quit a job before (things just ended for different reasons) and I’ve never left a job under negative circumstances before. Disclaimer: I’m not saying I’m perfect. My last boss called me 2 years ago because she started a new company and wanted me on board. (Unfortunately, the position would have had me in China for large chunks out of the year and that didn’t appeal to me.) I was the head tutor for the Liberal Arts Dept. for almost the entire 4 years I was at school and left only because I was graduating school and seeking an industry gig. Internships and freelance contracts were extended. I’ve enjoyed good working relationships with lots of people and it frustrated me so much that I couldn’t get this situation resolved.

Honestly, I am pretty okay. My life otherwise is very good. I have wonderful relationships with the boy, amazing friends, and my family. My health is good. I have a very nice roof over my head and I have savings. And I have you guys! I had a good/bad? conversation with a friend today. His father is gravely ill and his new beau has an ulcer. Puts things in perspective, you know?

So I am taking Friday and the weekend to relax and I start hitting the pavement Monday. I’ll keep y’all posted!

5 Responses to 'officially unemployed'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'officially unemployed'.

  1. Simon said,

    Dont ever let anyone try to talk you into working a good “chunk” of your time in China. It will have such a negative impact on your psyche, you wish you may have never left school.

    I know many people that got hoodwinked into doing stints in China. Good money , perks, fellow ex-pats to pass the time. Well, when the time came for their renewals, it was like being released from prison and you can guess what route they chose. That country is so ass backward, you must have the patience of a saint to endure it.

  2. Maria Palma said,

    Zoe,

    Wow, I feel like it’s been eons since I’ve visited you! I’ve been out of the loop – but I just wanted to drop a note to say, “Rock on!” I believe that everything happens for a reason and that better things are on their way 😉 You are truly a talented and creative person and deserve the best!

  3. SRR said,

    Wow…so much has happened. Sorry to hear about what happened. I don’t know much about the fashion industry, but I do know a lot about uncertainty and unemployment. The future is bright, but the hard part is getting started (or starting over again). “Things will work out OK” is a cliche, but it’s so true, especially when you’re so talented. Good luck, and remember that things happen for a reason and we’ll understand why later.


  4. omg, i stop blog reading for a week and this is what happens? you have *all* my support here from nyc – whatever i can do, dude! not that you need my help, as srr said, you’re so talented! but seriously. i will do what i can (and find ppl to do what i cant) to help you out!

  5. Alexwebmaster said,

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru


Leave a Reply

