verbal croquis


the alpargata

Posted in links by verbalcroquis on January 17, 2007

I just wanted to post a link to an article I read this morning in the International Herald Tribune:

After seeing poor children without shoes in Argentina, Mycoskie came up with a concept: “The idea is for every pair you sell, one pair goes to a child who doesn’t have shoes. It would be providing shoes for tomorrow.”

I have nothing to add–I just thought that stories like this should be publicized more.

The Golden Globe Red Carpet Parade is fun and all (except I really don’t understand why Reese Witherspoon’s dress is such a huge deal), but it’s stories like the one above that brighten my whole day.

2 Responses to 'the alpargata'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'the alpargata'.

  1. Wendy said,

    That’s a beautiful thing, Zoe!


  2. I know–isn’t it?

    I would love to be in a position to make that kind of large-scale contribution to society someday…


Leave a Reply

