verbal croquis


i love fashion

Posted in my work by verbalcroquis on February 1, 2007

I do, I really do.  How else could I sit here, exhausted, blurry-eyed, with crampy, chapped hands and only feel the buzzy pleasure of accomplishment.

The designs are complete, the final flats pages (all 4) are complete, the mock-up for the final figures pages is complete, photocopied so I can do some rendering experiments tomorrow.  The storyboard is 95% done; I’ll look at it with fresh eyes tomorrow.  And then I can do up a fabric collage board.

The hardest thing for me when I work on projects for my portfolio is fabric sourcing.  I go retail, since I have no plan on producing these designs and therefore wouldn’t feel right sampling with wholesalers for this type of thing.  I just need to hunt down some leather.  The husband came up with the brilliant idea to scour Goodwill or the like, which I hope to do over the weekend.

Tonight is the first night in long, long time when I’ll be going to bed feeling good about the amount of work I got done today.  I love it.  Best feeling ever.

14 Responses to 'i love fashion'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'i love fashion'.


  1. Congratulations!

  2. Anne said,

    Congrats! Got few pictures about the design though…

  3. Karen C. said,

    So very cool. But you’re tempting me to run out screaming from my day gig so I can do the same. ‘cept I have no other income 😦

  4. Wendy said,

    Excellent!

  5. Simon said,

    Are you saying you don’t have a jobber in San Fran that sells leather ?

    Why would you bother going to a Goodwill store to source anything ?

  6. Simon said,

    Are you saying you don’t have a jobber in San Fran that sells leather ?

    Why would you bother going to a Goodwill store to source anything ?


  7. thanks, ladies!

    karen–i have no income but my past savings and it hurts. sigh. i don’t recommend running out screaming from you day gig. 🙂

    simon–i want to find a vintagey, beat up leather jacket to cut apart for swatches.

  8. Leslie said,

    You should also check out Fabric Outlet on 17th and Mission. Last I checked they were selling a rainbow assortment of leather scraps.

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/JL86BtqTVyj7Dyq8xhNm_g

    You could also check out SCRAP SF. I got some very small leather scraps from there a while back:

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/9MmEddCB75q3H1ewMqnImQ

    Good luck! =)


  9. wow! thanks, Leslie!

  10. jeanne said,

    i have two varieties of vintagey chocolate brown leather you’re welcome to… one is darker and shinier and probably 2oz, and the other is a little ruddier and thicker, maybe 3.5oz. lemme know if you want to swing by and take a look.

  11. Maria Palma said,

    It is nice to see that you have your mojo back, girl! Sometimes we just have to take a step back and just breathe…and find that motivation and spark…and wonder why the heck we do what we do in the first place!

  12. SIMON said,

    I thought for sure you knew how to do your own distressing of leather, having spent time as a designer at “that other company” that did leather stuff.

    Most of
    the stuff you need is in the kitchen pantry, and I assume you you own a hairdryer, oven, and have piece of sandpaper kicking around. A few bricks you heat, A heavy chain ?

    With this little bit of knowledge, leather sores usally give you swatches for you take into your “lab”. 90 % of brands doing any form of distressd leather buy real non corrected skins and go to town. Cutting a vintage garment for scrap seems like waste.


  13. ooh, Jeanne, I’ll email you tomorrow.

    long time no talk, maria! thanks.

    simon, it’s not the distressing part i have problems with, it’s finding the right leather to begin with. right leather = the color & weight close to what i’m looking for + not from a wholesaler + within my budget + not 1 little swatch.

  14. Danielle said,

    Goodwill is an old fashion-school staple for fabric swatches that won’t be sourced at the jobbers. Particularly for sweater knits and leather, I recall. In fact I’ve seen people on a deadline cut into their own closets – I have.


Leave a Reply

