verbal croquis


red velvet cake and stuff

Posted in DE stuff,personal by verbalcroquis on March 23, 2007

Hi.

So. I come across something, obsess over it for a bit, then drop it. This week, it’s learning to bake a perfect red velvet cake from scratch. I’ve never baked anything from scratch. The husband, knowing my impulsiveness, wisely suggested we borrow a cake mixer from a friend rather than buy one. With my red couch, the red Netflix envelopes littering my desk, and the graves of imperfect (half)cakes, I don’t ever want to look at anything red ever again.

I’m talking to my darling M, and I’m hyped up on too much caffeine and I’m rambling and I tell her, “Yeah, it’s how I know I belong in fashion. It’s the only obsession I have that still holds strong after years and years. Twenty, to be exact.” Yes, there is a photo of me somewhere, rockin’ an awesome 80s homemade perm (my mother was a hairdresser when she lived in Korea), playing outside with a friend, clutching my mom’s old JCPenney’s catalog.

So, what have I been doing instead of blogging the fantastic tales of a brand-spankin’ new DE? Um, reading. A lot. Taking notes.  Thinking thinking thinking.  Stuff online about lean manufacturing, a real paper-and-ink book called Developing Products in Half the Time. It’s about as dense and dry as packed sawdust–we’ll see if I can glean anything useful from it. I mean, it came highly recommended, so I don’t see it as a waste of time, but let’s just say it’s not a light and fluffy breezethrough. Neither are my cakes. Okay, the last one was pretty good, but Test Subject Gabe says there’s an slight aftertaste. Sigh.

I’ve also been jobhunting for that perfect part-time admin job so I can have some income while I launch the beginnings of the Zoe Hong Empire. (Okay, totally kidding on that name.  No need to confuse people into thinking my line will resemble costumes from a Gong Li period flick.) Honestly, I’d like to work somewhere where I can actually still contribute in a nonfashion way. Working at a real estate office would be rad.  I have a big interest in real estate and we all know interested people make better employees.

So, I’m going to sign off now, since I’m just rambling nonsensically.   Have a great weekend, kids!

3 Responses to 'red velvet cake and stuff'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'red velvet cake and stuff'.

  1. Edubya said,

    Red Velvet Cake has always been *the* great traditional family dessert in my family. It has been bastardized by many of my relatives, but if you want the one incredible version, it is made by one of my aunts. 😛

  2. "katie" said,

    we are psychic twins….i too am obsessed with real estate!


  3. E: Project RVC was a huge success and devoured with no hospital visits by lots of people.

    K: Yeah, I’m mostly ignorant, but I’m always trying to learn more about it!


Leave a Reply

