verbal croquis


what i’ve been up to

Posted in company talk by verbalcroquis on August 8, 2007

–received work table today! woohoo! it’s a big 6’x8′ monstrosity and I love it.  I can’t wait until I get it assembled.

–after two days of research, I’ve finally narrowed down some choices for proper floor matting and rugs.  Mostly I wanted a really good one to put under my sewing machine (to buffer/absorb noise and vibration) so that my downstairs neighbors don’t hate me.  Ordered samples.  Fashion is so glamorous.

–fought bitterly with an online company over some stuff. Gah! I’ve been doing a lot of shopping for equipment/furniture/supplies lately and I will post some vendors’ review when I’ve bought/received everything.  So far, there’s been some love, some hate, and a lot of cigarettes.  All this buying requires research, so I’ve been online A LOT.  If it wasn’t for Harry Potter, I wouldn’t be able to tell when I’ve last read something not on a screen.

–been fixing up the new place.  Cleaning, buying stuff, thinking about decorating.  The husband’s been pestering me (for years, actually) to draw “some sexy cool fashion stuff” for the walls.  I feel kinda weird about putting my own drawings up on the walls.  Isn’t that strange, that I’m ok showcasing my goods everywhere except in my own house?  *shrug*  Well, it’s been 3 years of pestering, so I figure I should just go ahead and do it.

4 Responses to 'what i’ve been up to'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'what i’ve been up to'.

  1. Wendy said,

    Yes, by all means, do it! (And show us, too, please!)

  2. Rebecca said,

    I agree with Wendy. I wouldn’t encourage you to do anything you are uncomfortable with, but it sounds like a wonderful personal touch. After all, you can, he wants you to, why not?


  3. do it! even dorky i (dorky me?) have my own drawings up. Granted if someone makes a snide comment about them i pretend they were gifts ;o)

    ps i have an email in the works to you but i realized i was just being whiny so i am taking a break and will send tomorrow ;o)

  4. Rachel said,

    I’ve had tons of experiences where people who I would have thought to be familiar with my work have been at my house and what is on the walls has surprised them. I think it’s part of embracing the self-aggrandizement that’s naturally part of working for yourself.


Leave a Reply

