verbal croquis


random notes

Posted in DE stuff,personal by verbalcroquis on July 15, 2008

–What am I doing now? Trying to sell my current collection.  Designing my next collection.  Making a list of all the mistakes I made my first season.  Cursing 20/20 hindsight. Trying to not let my self-flagellation get too severe.

One of friends once said, “Wouldn’t it be nice if we believed the things our friends said to us?”  You know, when they tell you you’re awesome, that everything will work out, you look like you lost weight, it’s really not that big of a deal.

On the other hand, the husband once told me about this essay he read once, about depression actually being psychologically realistic, while optimism was the true mental delusion.

–I’ve received a little bit of positive response from my collection. It’s encouraging, as the response is mainly from people whose opinions I respect.  I tend to need an ego boost when starting a new collection.

–Trying to socialize a little, take a little breather.  Went to a wedding last Saturday, going camping for 1 night this weekend.

–On a personal note, my father found some long lost relatives in Korea.  They are my mom’s side of the family; my father had lost contact with them when my mother passed away. I haven’t seen them since I left Korea 24 years ago.  I’m going to Korea to see them! I don’t know when, but hopefully before my grandmother passes away (she’s in her 80s).  Yeehaw!  The first time I called my aunt, she freaked out because apparently my phone voice is just like my mom’s.

–Want some instant gratification? Grow a mint plant! My boss gave a cutting of wild mint and it took a little bit to take root and now it grows and grows so fast and it smells amazing.  I also got a chocolate mint cutting from a friend and she’s been growing pretty fast too.  You can really smell the chocolate with the mint.  I just set them by a north-facing window and water them once a week.  It’s really rewarding to see new sprouts and it’s fun that they grow so fast, since building a collection is such a slow process. (I also have a teeny weeny grafted cactus that grows very slowly but that’s good because she’s cute small.)

Not to say I’m giving up fashion to be a botanist or a gardener anytime soon.  Apparently I was born with fashion in my blood.  My aunt has had the same clothing store for 30 years, and when I was a tot in Korea, I’d go visit her store and pretend I was a customer, picking out stuff and asking her how much it was and then I’d pretend I was a stylist, telling the actual customers that something wouldn’t look good on them.  (I left Korea when I was 4, so I don’t think I really offended anyone…)

How are you?

3 Responses to 'random notes'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'random notes'.

  1. Karen C said,

    Ok, dear, your stuff is fabulous. Any chance you can get a model to wear one of your pieces and go to the Fashion Show in Union Square tomorrow? You know, just something to get out there and be noticed. You never know what may happen. Or, are you already in the show? This is a good time with the Full Moon of the Guru 7/17 (just a little “woo woo” for you–you know I’m steeped in this all day long with the book lol). I understand your ups and downs–been through it. But think where you were a year ago–yup, you’ve made progress.

  2. Anna said,

    Just dropping a note to say how much I love your collection. I followed a link from another blog and have been dropping in frequently to check the ‘Stockists’ link, as I am in love with one dress in particular and would give my left arm, or at least a few fingers, to be able to own it. Best of luck with selling to retailers – I’ll keep checking in.

  3. Rebecca said,

    Thanks for throwing in the little girl stylist in Korea story. It brightened up my rather quiet and boring day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

