verbal croquis


the new plan

Posted in DE stuff,home life,the day job by verbalcroquis on February 11, 2009

is there is no plan.  

My entire career has been a result of planning. Methodical, like a template chess game shown online to teach new gamers. Sure, I could blame things partly on the economy, but mostly, I blame my erroneous planning. Not that planning is bad, but now is a good time to shake things up some.

I got laid off from my day job. I worked in an unessentials field, money dried up, our projects dried up, so now the two owners are on their own, trying to ride out the recession. There were some tears involved–I really like them.

So I, for the first time in a long long time, have only 1 job. Sorta. If being a 1 man show could be considered 1 job. And I’m really happy. Grateful. I don’t have any debt and I don’t have kids to feed.  I’m looking for work–the one I want the most is a technical illustration teaching job. *crosses fingers* I’m socializing. I’m relaxing.

Best of all, I’m making stuff. I’m drawing stuff and I’m liking the stuff I’m drawing. I went to a clothing exchange last month I’m doing little sewing experiments while I fix things. I’m slowly making things for a collection to show in the nearish future. My no-plan plan does not mean I’m shuttering my business, just approaching it differently. Now is the only time I can indulge in so much freedom, when I have no employees.

Blogging may or may not resume. Like I said, there is no plan. Just trying to go day by day making as many cool things as possible.

How are you?

5 Responses to 'the new plan'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'the new plan'.

  1. Walter said,

    Glad to see you’re keeping your head up.

  2. Deborah said,

    Good for you. I agree with the “no-plan” plan. I, too, can be somewhat methodical when it comes to approaching certain things, but now I try to let loose a bit and see what happens. Keep up the good work! I can’t wait to see your new designs.

  3. Lyz said,

    So glad you are back. John Lennon said, “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” So…a “no-plan” plan might just be the best way to go. You are such a talent!

  4. Andrea said,

    Zoe! I am so glad you have a no-plan. We have to catch up soon. Freedom is nice,yes?

    xoxo
    Andrea


  5. no plan sounds like those fab turn of the millennium no name shoes an excellent plan 🙂


Leave a Reply

