verbal croquis


voting fatigue

Posted in general by verbalcroquis on June 30, 2012

My God, I’m sick of these contests. I can’t remember the last time I received a facebook invite that was an invite to a real physical event that was sent to me as a person, not as a number on a spam list. It’s all VOTE FOR ME! VOTE FOR ME! CLICK THESE LINKS! 

And I don’t even blame the people asking for votes. Who doesn’t want to get ahead/win/be noticed? I blame these damn contests. I’m no social media pro but there has got to be a better way to attract attention to your company than turning people into shilling, begging spammers, annoying the shit out of all their friends and acquaintances.

I did one of these contests once and I even annoyed the crap out of myself and I was so relieved when it was over! 

I occasionally vote in these contests, but I definitely only vote when I really think the entry/contestant is awesome. These contests are so stupid anyway, being more popularity contests than talent/ability contests which doubly reinforces the idea that it’s not what you know but who you know and how many people you know that matters to succeed. 

*headdesk*

 

Leave a comment